2 Comments

BLOG TOUR: A Seed is Sown – #Inspiration for Dragon Born by @ElaLourenco

Dragon Born: A Seed is Sown

Ela Lourenco

The question I am asked most often is how I came to write for young adults when previously my books had all been for adults (before which I was a political journalist!). It has been a long and winding path that has led me to write for the younger reader and yet it feels as though this was always where I was headed ever since my first story was published in the school magazine at age seven.

I always knew I wanted to be a writer one day – in fact I have no recollection of ever wanting to do anything else (except for a very brief dalliance with the idea of being the first ballerina to dance Swan Lake on the moon). I wrote for all the school’s magazines, newsletters, and was always the one reading and writing under my covers at home with the help of my trusted torch (I know now that I was not quite as stealthy as I believed but was fortunate to have a mother who let me get away with it!).

As I grew up I continued to write; poetry, news articles… And yet I had still to find the book inside of me – the ever elusive novel. It took years for my ideas to form and establish themselves but once they had, Essence (the first book in my adult series) flowed unrestrained as did the sequels in the trilogy. I could breathe a sigh of relief, I had found my ‘niche’. My newfound sense of purpose was short-lived however, turned completely upside down by my daughter’s innocent question; “Why can’t you write something I am allowed to read?

Hmm, why not? Why couldn’t I write something my own children could read? How had this not occurred to me before? Obviously I had written funny short stories and poems for them over the years but nothing quite on the same level as an actual novel. My daughter’s request coincided with her being diagnosed with dyslexia, something we had long suspected because despite her love of stories, she struggled to focus on a book and found it very tiring to read to herself. I had a true lightbulb moment in that instant – I could write something especially for her, something designed to hold her interest – a story tailored for her. She was delighted when I asked her what she wanted the book to be about. It was a true collaboration as she gave me a list of requirements which sowed the seeds of the story – it was to be a fantasy adventure with lots of magic, action and she and her sister, cousins and friends had to be in it in some shape or form – the rest was up to me.

I barely slept for the next few months as the story took shape, creating histories, religions, and rituals for each of the different races in Dragon Born. The protagonists were of course named after my own two daughters and nieces and the story just flowed as though it had been waiting for me to begin after all these years.

I could barely write fast enough for my daughter as she demanded to know what would happen next and I barely paused, spurred on by her newfound enthusiasm toward reading. One chapter became a book, one book turned into a series of five and that is how Dragon Born came into being – a true labour of love from a mother to a daughter. In all honesty though I was the receiver of the true gift, for not only did I watch my child fall in love with reading with a renewed determination but I found my true passion – that of writing for children.

And now for some information about Dragon Born…

ElaLourenco_DragonBorn_FrontCoverFar in the distant reaches of the universe is a world called Azmantium. A planet with lilac skies, jade green seas and fiery red suns. A planet where everything, from the tides of the sea to life itself, is rooted in magic. Children are assessed at an early age and trained according to their unique magical talents.

Lara, an orphan who has no memory of her true origins, is unaware that she has a vital role to play in the ancient prophesies that are about to begin coming true. Older than most who are just beginning their magical training, Lara will soon find out that destiny waits for no one, especially when the fate of the world rests on their shoulders.

With the help of her new friends, Lara will learn that in order to save the future, she must journey into the past – to a time when Dragons ruled the world!

***

Dragon Born is available on:

Amazon: US | UK | Canada | Australia | Germany | France | Spain | Italy | Japan | Mexico | Brazil | India | The Netherlands

Amazon Print: US | UK | Canada | Germany | France | Spain | Italy | Japan | Mexico | Brazil | India

Barnes & Noble (Print & eBook)

Kobo

iTunes

Smashwords

***

BioPictureElaLourencoAbout the Author — Ela Lourenco lives in Scotland with her two daughters and husband. She has been an avid reader since childhood and has long enjoyed mysteries, mythology and anything related to the paranormal/supernatural/mystical/science fiction. She loves nothing more than making up stories about faraway people and places (helped somewhat by a mind that just won’t grow up!). When she isn’t nose deep in a book or writing herself she can be found dancing around the kitchen whilst baking. Her biggest wish in life is to infect others with a passion for reading.

DragonBorn_ElaLourenco_badge

2 comments on “BLOG TOUR: A Seed is Sown – #Inspiration for Dragon Born by @ElaLourenco

  1. Awesome description and love the cover.

  2. Thank you so much for hosting Dragon Born!! May your days be filled with chocolate and laughter!! x Ela

Have a Song of Your Own? Sing It For Us Here...

