2 Comments

WiHM 2014: Featuring the Ladies of The Sirens Call Issue #13 [Part Seven]

February is Women in Horror Recognition Month, a movement that was founded to support and assist female genre artists in gaining opportunities, exposure and networking. In honour of the event, Sirens Call Publications devotes its February issue of The Sirens Call to supporting the cause and featuring the excellent talent displayed by ladies writing horror.

line_separator

First up we have ‘My Heart’s Desire’ by Mari Wells which starts on page 72…

“My phone’s screen lights the dark bedroom. As I lay in bed flipping through photos taken at today’s school dance my heart stops as Cole’s face appears. I’d snapped the picture while he could pay attention to me, before Kayla got back. As soon as Kayla’s around, he doesn’t notice anyone else.

Why couldn’t he see me the way he sees her? My stomach twists, acid rises up my chest and burns my throat. A love spell would change my luck. He’d forget about her and be crazy about me. We’re already best friends. He just needs a little push in the right direction.

Staring at his picture, my fingertips tingle. I want so much to touch him. Feel his skin, hold his hand. It’ll be soon.

I glance at the alarm clock on my bedside table. Ten minutes to midnight. The spell online said I had to do this at midnight. Moving as slow as I can, to the right, slower still as my mattress squeaks I get out of bed. My bare toes curl when they touch the hardwood floor. A chill runs up my legs and settles at the base of my spine…”

07_MariWellsABOUT THE AUTHOR Mari’s love of the paranormal goes back to her tween years with origins in vampirology. In recent years, she has expanded her knowledge to other paranormal beings.

Her paranormal pieces have been included in supernatural magazines, websites, and blogs. Other stories are featured online and in print.

Twitter: @Mari_Wells4
Blog: www.mariwells.wordpress.com

line_separator

Next up is D.M Slate with her tale ‘Home, For Good’ beginning on page 75…

“7:43 PM    Days Home: 1 – Arrival Night

Her bag hits the ground with a thud and Julia sighs in relief. The over-stuffed backpack looks like it might burst at the seams, and it feels just as heavy. She pulls her suitcase along behind her, parking it beside the backpack. Resting her purse on top, she digs deep down inside with her right hand, searching for her keys. The purse is just as full as her other two bags, and it takes a few seconds of careful digging to locate the key ring. Julia’s left hand holds her phone. Her mother’s voice projects out of the speaker into the apartment breezeway, in the dim-lit night.

“I’m just glad that you’re home, safely. We’ve missed you so much! Are you sure you don’t want us to come over, tonight? We can bring dinner. It’ll only take us forty-five minutes to get there.”

“No, mom, not tonight. I’ve been traveling literally all day. I just want to take a shower and get some sleep.”

07_DMSladeABOUT THE AUTHOR Danyelle (aka D.M. Slate) resides in Colorado, where she’s lived for most of her life. She attended college at the University of Northern Colorado and completed a business degree, and now works as a financial analyst. She’s married to her high school sweet-heart, and together they have a young daughter and son. Her first publication was released in December of 2009.

Website: http://dm-slate.com/

line_separator

And Gloria Bobrowicz’ short ‘Seeing’ is on page 79…

“It won’t be long now sweetie,” Kate purred to her growing abdomen just two days before her due date.

Maude, an evil witch who thought Kate had stolen her mate, cast a spell on her taking away her sight. She was not guilty of the crime having absolutely no interest in Maude’s lover, but that didn’t matter to Maude. Fact was, she was now blind.

Kate knew she couldn’t reverse the spell. Alone and scared, she decided to conceive and was extremely diligent in taking care of her fetus, protecting it from harm…”

07_GloriaBobrowiczABOUT THE AUTHOR Gloria Bobrowicz has been a huge horror fan since early childhood.  She loves books related to true crime – particularly the serial killer variety.  Watching the movie ‘Night of the Living Dead’ or some of the older horror movies such as, ‘Invasion of the Body Snatchers’, ‘The Thing from Another World’, or ‘War of the Worlds’ with a bowl of popcorn is her idea of relaxing. Gloria is a co-owner and the Editor-In-Chief of Sirens Call Publications.

Twitter: @GlorBobrowicz
FB: Gloria Bobrowicz

line_separator
If you like what you’ve read so far, why not download the issue for FREE? There are other wonderful pieces of fiction and poetry waiting for you!

The Sirens Call – Issue #13 – Women in Horror (Second Annual Issue)

2014_February_ezine_cover_V5

2 comments on “WiHM 2014: Featuring the Ladies of The Sirens Call Issue #13 [Part Seven]

  1. Reblogged this on Mari Wells and commented:
    I’m a part of this!

  2. Thank you, Ladies. I’m honored to be a part of WiHM.

Have a Song of Your Own? Sing It For Us Here...

