2 Comments

After the End with Jason Lairamore

Every time that Sirens Call Publications releases an anthology, we ask each of the authors to provide us with a guest post; something that speaks to the inspiration for their story that you will read. With the release of Carnage: After the End – Volume 1 &Volume 2, our inspiration series may run a little longer than our other anthologies. But that’s okay, we love Post-Apocalyptic Horror and both volumes have a fantastic mix of tales. Continuing on with our inspiration series, today we feature Jason Lairamore, author of An End for Some in Carnage: After the End – Volume 2.

Jason Lairamore pic 2Jason Lairamore is a husband to one and a father to three.  His profession is in the medical field, but his passion resides in the written word.  Jason’s goal is to learn how to better express; he wants to learn how to truly sing, but in writing.  If you’d like to see Jason’s work and join him in his quest to be a better writer visit him on Twitter or Facebook.

And without further ado, I give you Jason…

Inspiration: An End for Some

With age comes wisdom.  Yeah that happens to some, sure, but for many it has to be a choice, and for others it never happens at all.  For some, there is nothing but the end.

For some… as we put on the years we get a better understanding of what life is all about.  Call it practicality.  Call it being a realist.  For me, it took having a couple of kids.  Children add more responsibility to your life than anything else, ever.  If you don’t have kids then you are just going to have to trust me on this one.

Or don’t believe me.  It’s a hard thing to take on faith.  I didn’t.  I couldn’t fathom the depth of life alteration and reality shifting that took place after my blessed wife gave our family its first little addition.  I can’t say the words that will make you go, ‘Ah, I understand.  I get it.  I see things different now.’

I can’t say those words, but dammit – I could certainly give it one hell of a shot.

When I found Sirens Call anthology, Carnage: After the End I decided to give it that shot.  I laid down a story that was part personal history, part hopes and dreams.  I told of life as it once was, of how that life might be, of how it all might turn out.  What happens in the future?  What would I do, a father to three, if the end came?

I’d been asking myself that question in all its variations for years, ever since my first little boy cried out to the world.  That little cry set in motion the never-ending; What if‘.  The, What would I do‘s soon followed.  Sirens Call Publications provided a means to answer at least a couple of those questions.

So there is an inkling of what I was thinking when I wrote my story, An End for Some, for Sirens Call Publications.  I can’t thank them enough for including me in this anthology and invite everyone to read it and spread the word.  Tell your friends and family.

And try asking yourself – If the end came today, what would you do?

***

Carnage_Volume2_front_coverHell has invaded Earth and happy endings are a thing long since forgotten.

The ten stories in Carnage: After the End – Volume 2 tell of the frighteningly horrific and cruel lives the survivors must face. Each one takes us to a place where humanity’s stragglers are forced to battle for their very existence against their own grim reality; creatures from different worlds or times, individuals or groups of miscreants who feed on the fear of the weak, and even the terrifying threat of unknown bacterial organisms. Their will to go on diminishing among the tatters of the civilization they once knew.

In a world where society has collapsed and terror lurks around every corner, no one can be trusted and nothing can be taken for granted.

The Apocalypse has come, leaving in its wake small pockets of survivors battling to stay alive; each carving out a new beginning for mankind…

Contributing Authors in Volume 1 include:

Kimberly A. Bettes, Shane Cashman, Shane R. Collins, Laura Diamond, Rodney James Galley, Michael Griffin, Russell Linton, Adam Millard, Christofer Nigro, and Julianne Snow.

Contributing Authors in Volume 2 include

Angel D. Callido, Charlie Fish, Harper Hull, Magda Knight, Jason Lairamore, Harry Manners, Zachary O’Shea, Wednesday Silverwood, Adrian Tchaikovsky, and L.E. White.

***

Interested in picking up a copy of both volumes?

Volume 1 –CreateSpaceAmazon USAmazon UK, and Smashwords

Volume 2 – CreateSpaceAmazon USAmazon UK, and Smashwords

***

Now for a treat! Here’s a short excerpt from Jason’s contribution to Carnage: After the End – Volume 2. Please enjoy An End for Some

The sky was real blue.  The morning was a little cool.  It was a nice day to work and make some money.  I’d already changed into some of my light bibs, some boots, and a cut-off tee.

My grandpa, Pa, was on his knees off his back porch looking at an inset square of concrete.  Beside him was a new, bright red, hand pump.

“I’m looking for work,” I said.  He hauled his gangly self up and squared up proper to face me, his six feet three to my five feet eleven.

“What’s the first thing I told you about work, Jerol?”  Pa was the go-to guy when I needed a job.  He was always doing something.  He’d been retired over ten years and still worked every day.

“Set a price,” I said.  I needed money.  School had just let out and I wanted new traps.  Dad’s old ones were about rusted through.

“Close,” he said.  “I got four hours of easy labor.  Going to reopen the well house.  Pays three dollars an hour.”

“I’ll take it,” I said and stuck my hand out.

“Done.”  Pa didn’t take my hand.  He put on his work gloves.

“Could have got five dollars an hour out of me easy, boy.”  He shook his head.  “Know your worth Jerol.  That’s the first thing to know when setting out to work.  You’re fourteen years old.  Don’t sell your time cheap when you know you deserve more.”

He met my eye and held it.  “Don’t ever let others say you aren’t worth your salt.  You get me?”

“Yes, Sir.”

He handed me a shovel and set me to digging a shallow lateral line down the hill to the garden.  I got to it.  Easy job.

My grandma, Nan, came out on the porch a while later.  I was at least a hundred feet away, still digging the line.  Pa was up taking him a drink of sweet tea from his mason jar.  It’d got hot today.

I waved, but Nan wasn’t looking.  She talked to Pa.  I stuck the shovel back in the dirt and heard Pa’s Mason jar break.

Pa stared at Nan.

“What’s going on?” I called.

“Jerol, you need to get home,” Pa yelled.

Don’t forget to check back tomorrow when we feature the inspiration behind Julianne Snow’s Scents of Danger in Carnage: After the End – Volume 1!

2 comments on “After the End with Jason Lairamore

  1. With age does come wisdom – in most cases anyway. Hi Jason, just wanted to let you know that I enjoyed reading ‘An End for Some’ 🙂

Have a Song of Your Own? Sing It For Us Here...

